Three new icare Dust Diseases Board appointments welcomed

icare welcomes the newest appointments to the Dust Diseases Board.

The new Dust Diseases Board membership gives new focus and perspective to the allocation of grant funding for research and support services for people affected by dust diseases.

Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Work, Health and Safety Sophie Cotsis appointed three new Board members, Ms Kate Cole OAM, Mr Peter Tighe and Professor Emeritus Malcom Sim AM.

Minister Cotsis has reappointed five Board members, Professor Sanchia Aranda, Professor David Currow FAHMS, Ms Sylvia Kidziak AM, Mr Ray Petty, Ms Natasha Flores. Ms Sherri Hayward and Mr John Walsh AO (Chair) continue their appointments to the Board.

The Dust Diseases Board has been funding grants since 1983 with the aim of reducing the risk of dust diseases and improving outcomes for people who have a dust disease, and their families.

A total of 55 grants with a funded value of over $13 million were approved by the Dust Diseases Board between 2016 and 2023.

The Dust Diseases Board is supported by a Research and Education team, whose members operate the four DDB funding streams, administer the DDB grants, and conduct and evaluate dust diseases research.

Board members include representation from: employers; employees; support, advocacy or awareness groups or organisations; persons involved in research into dust diseases or in academic matters relating to dust diseases; health professionals; and an independent chairperson.

Tagged in: